Print this page — Done printing
OR search: Catalog | Internet

Award Winning Children's Books

Award winners are a good place to start when looking for a great book to read.


The Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal is awarded to “the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children”.    

Meet author Katherine Applegate, author of The One and Only Ivan, and the real Ivan who inspired 2013’s award winning story.
Baltimore’s own Laura Amy Schlitz, already a Newbery winner in 2008, received a Newbery Honor, in 2013, too.

The Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is awarded to “the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children”.

Eavesdrop on an interview with Jon Klassen, author and illustrator of both This is Not My Hat, 2013’s award winner, and illustrator of one of the honor books, Extra Yarn.

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards

/uploadedImages/www/locations/central/childrens_department/i too.jpg

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards go to “outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values”.

In this video interview, Maryland-born Brian Collier, winner of the 2013 King Illustrator Book winner, I, Too, Am America, discusses his creative process.

Learn about Jacqueline Woodson, author of 2013 King Author Honor book, Each Kindness, as she answers children’s questions.

The Black Eyed Susan Book Award

The Black Eyed Susan Book Award is Maryland's own children's choice award.  The award website includes guidelines for participation, a list of past winners, and current nominees.

Multiple Coretta Scott King award winner, Sharon Draper, answers questions about her heartbreaking yet hopeful 2010-2011 Black Eyed Susan winner,  Out of My Mind.


Print this page — Done printing