Skip Navigation

Announcement All Pratt buildings are currently closed because of COVID-19, however remote and contact free services are available.

Books

Baltimore City Government. Memorial of the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore, with Accompanying Documents. Baltimore: William M. Innes, 1861. MD F187.8.B32

  • Mayor George W. Brown writes an appeal to the United States Congress and the Baltimore City Council about the political unrest in Baltimore. He writes to both governing bodies trying to assure them that the city government is not hostile towards the United States.

Callum, Agnes Kane. Colored Volunteers of the Maryland Civil War: 7th Regiment United States Colored Troops, 1863-1866. Baltimore: Mullac Publishers, 1990. MD F175.74.C36 1990

Callum, Agnes Kane. 9th Regiment United States Colored Troops: Volunteers of Maryland, Civil War, 1863-1866. Baltimore: Mullac Publishers, 1999. MD F175.74.C358 1999

Gilmor, Harry. Four Years in the Saddle. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1866. MD E605.G48

  • This is an account of Harry Gilmore, a Maryland cavalryman in the Confederate army. He wrote the first part of the book recounting his first year in military service while in prison at Fort McHenry from September 1862 to February 1863. When captured again and placed in prison at Fort Warren, Gilmor recapped the remaining years of his military service.

Hartzler, Daniel D. Marylanders in the Confederacy. Silver Spring, MD: Family Line Publications, 1986. MD F175.74.H29 1986

Confederate soldier registers for the Civil War.

Huntsberry, Thomas Vincent. Maryland in the Civil War. 2 vols. Baltimore: J. Mart Publishers, 1985. MD F175.74.H8 1985

  • Book I covers the South and Book II covers the North. Both books provide a roster of soldiers, biographical information about leading players in the military, histories of the regiments, photographs, and maps.

Stotelmyer, Steven R. The Bivouacs of the Dead. Baltimore: Toomey Press, 1992. MD E474.65.S78 1992

  • History of those who died at Antietam and South Mountain Battles. Also includes registers of Civil War dead for Antietam, Washington, Mt. Olivet, and Elmwood cemeteries.

Watring, Anna Miller. Civil War Burials in Baltimore's Loudon Park Cemetery. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub., 1996. MD F186.2.W38 1996

Wilmer, L. Allison, J. H. Jarrett, and George W. F. Vernon. History and Roster of Maryland Volunteers, War of 1861-5. 2 vols. Baltimore: Press of Guggenheimer, Weil & Co., 1898. MD F175.74.M3

  • This set was produced under the auspices of the State of Maryland. Volume One contains a brief history and alphabetical listing of every regiment and battery Maryland formed during the War. Volume Two lists all of the Marylanders who served in the United States Navy and Marine Corps. Volume Two also details the histories and rosters of the United States Colored Troops from Maryland.

Newspapers

Listed below are the names of some of the leading newspapers in counties throughout the State, which are housed in the Periodicals Department on microfilm. If researching a particular battle or incident, look in one of the papers under the date.

Place of Publication

County

Title

Dates

Notes

Annapolis

Anne Arundel

Annapolis Gazette

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Baltimore City

Baltimore City

Baltimore American & Commercial Advertiser

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Baltimore City

Baltimore City

Baltimore Weekly American

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Baltimore City

Baltimore City

South

4/22/1861-2/17/1862

Incomplete holdings

Baltimore City

Baltimore City

Sun

1861-1865

Denton

Caroline

American Union

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Elkton

Cecil

Cecil Whig

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Port Tobacco

Charles

Port Tobacco Times & Charles County Advertiser

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Cambridge

Dorchester

Cambridge Chronicle

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Middletown

Frederick

Valley Register

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Bel Air

Harford

Harford Democrat

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Bel Air

Harford

Southern Aegis & Harford Co. Intelligencer

1/19/1861-3/11/1864

Incomplete holdings

Rockville

Montgomery

Montgomery County Sentinel

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Marlboro

Prince George's

Marlboro Gazette

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Easton

Talbot

Easton Gazette

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Hagerstown

Washington

Hagerstown Mail

1861-1865

Incomplete holdings

Annual Reports

The railroads played an extremely important role in the Civil War for both sides—nothing could transport troops and supplies as fast. As the War progressed, troops were dispensed frequently to both destroy and protect sections of the tracks that were important to their needs. The Maryland Department houses several annual reports of the railroads that traversed the state of Maryland during the Civil War.

Name

Years

Notes

Location

Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company

1861-1865

MD HE2791.B2

Northern Central Railway Company

1861-1865

MD HE2791.N82

Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore Rail Road Company

1861-1865

MD HE2791.P55

Western Maryland Railroad Company

1863-1865

MD HE2791.W52

Scrapbooks

Maryland Department, Enoch Pratt Free Library. Civil War Clippings from Harper's Weekly, Leslie's Illustrated Newspapers, etc. 1861-1865. 3 vols. Special Collections F175.7.C5Q

Three scrapbooks were created by Maryland Department librarians from 1940-1942. Volume One chronicles the Civil War and Maryland for the year 1861, Volume Two contains happenings in Maryland during 1862, and Volume Three follows the War and its effects, both privately and politically, in Maryland from 1863-1865. The books largely consist of the original newspaper articles, though there are some typewritten copies of articles.

Prints

Volck, Adalbert John [V. Blada]. Sketches from the Civil War in North America, 1861, '62, '63. 1863. 23 plates. Special Collections E647.V6Q

Adalbert Volck, drawing under the name V. Blada, was a Confederate sympathizer. A dentist by trade, Volck used his artistic abilities to "speak out" for Southern sympathizers. Completed in three series using black ink, Volck's depictions of Lincoln and the North were particularly harsh. Although some of the sketches were imprinted with London as place of publishing, historians speculate that this was a guise to lead authorities away from learning the true identity of the artist.

Broadsides

A broadside is a single sheet with printing on only one side. Broadsides were used in Maryland in the mid-nineteenth century for political agitation, advertisements, poems, ballads, etc. Below is a list of broadsides printed in Maryland during the Civil War, which are kept in Pratt Library's Special Collections Department. Both Northern and Southern sympathizers were well represented in these broadsides.

Title

Year

Publisher

An Appeal to the South

January 24, 1862

Baltimore Boys' Own

[1861]

Camp Song of the Maryland Line

[1861]

R. M. Chambers

Down Trodden Maryland

March 4, 1862

Hurrah for Jeff. Davis

[1861]

Maryland in Chains

May 14, 1861

Richmond Examiner

Our Union Flag

Thomas G. Doyle

Rebels are Skedadling Out of My Maryland

True Union Ladies of Maryland

We'll Be Free in Our Maryland

January 30, 1862

Southern Prisoner Gives Thanks to the Baltimore Ladies

James Young

If you would like to know more, try our Live Chat with a Librarian service, or contact us.