Research
Research your family history, get homework help, read current newspapers, and more with Pratt Library research resources. Browse subject guides, databases, and digital collections or chat with a librarian to get started. A Pratt Library Card is required to access many of our databases.
Featured Databases
Alternative & Independent Publications
Alt-PressWatch gives you access to full-text newspapers and magazines from alternative, independent presses.
African American Studies Center (Oxford)
Discover more than 10,000 articles, maps, and multimedia resources from top scholars in the fields of African American and African history and culture.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business with sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, and more.
Maryland Newspapers
Search current and historical Maryland newspapers, including The Baltimore Banner and over 100 years of the Baltimore Sun and Baltimore Afro-American.
Featured Research Guides
Job Seeker's Toolkit
Looking for a job in Baltimore? This toolkit is designed to support job-seekers and those who assist job-seekers.
Early Maryland History
Find resources and guidance for researching early Maryland history from the Colonial through the Antebellum periods.
Genealogy & Family History Research
Research your family history and genealogy with extensive resources, both in person and online.
Evaluating Old Books
Ever wonder how much your old books are worth? The Humanities Collections has resources to help you find out.
Got a Question? Ask a Librarian!
During Pratt Library hours you can live chat with a librarian. Prefer to talk on the phone? Call (410) 396-5430 for answers to reference questions.
Chat with a LibrarianDigital Maryland Collections
Providing online access to digital versions of rare and unique materials, including historical maps, photographs, reports, books, manuscripts, artwork, and other media. To view more digital collections from libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions throughout Maryland, visit Digital Maryland.
View the CollectionCentral Library Departments
Find librarian expertise, books, media, microfilm, and more in Central Library Departments. Explore Departments related to subjects from Maryland history and fine arts to job seeking and teen resources.
View the Departments