Public Boards & Commissions
Learn more about public boards and commissions under the Mayor's office in Baltimore.
Public Service
Serving on a public board or commission is one way to get engaged with your local government. In Baltimore City, public boards oversee or provide insight on subjects such as care for aging adults, animal welfare, bike infrastructure, and much more.
The Baltimore City Mayor's website has detailed information on city boards and commissions with members appointed by the mayor, including current membership, contact information, membership requirements, and application information (if available). Eligibility for board service, the process of appointment, time commitment, scope of work, and other factors will vary significantly between each board and committee, so take time to read through the available material when determining whether this commitment is right for you.
Visit the Mayor's WebsiteBaltimore City Boards and Commissions
| Adult Public Guardianship Review Board | Reviews public guardianship cases every six months and makes recommendations to the court to either continue, modify, or terminate guardianship of the person. |
| Commission on the Aging and Retirement Education (CARE) | Advises the Executive Director and works to promote agency efficiency and coordinate the delivery of programs and services for the elderly in Baltimore City. |
| AIDS Prevention Sterile Needle Exchange Program Oversight Committee | Provides oversight and support for city needle exchange programs. |
| Mayor's Anti-Animal Abuse Advisory Commission | Researches and recommends ways to prevent animal abuse in Baltimore, improve enforcement and training, monitor progress, and evaluate related policies. |
| Arts & Culture Advisory Committee | Operates in an advisory capacity supporting the Mayor and City Council on matters regarding arts and culture. |
| Mayor's Bicycle Advisory Commission | Serves in an advisory capacity on issues related to promoting bicycling as a safe and convenient form of transportation and recreation. |
| Baltimore Casino Local Development Council (LDC) | Advises the city on the spending plan for Casino Local Impact Grant (LIG) funds. |
| Charles Village Community Benefits District (CVCBD) | Provides oversight of Charles Village Community Benefits District supplemental services. |
| Charter Review Commission | Reviewed the city charter and provided findings and recommendations for changes to the City. |
| Child First Authority | Provides recreational, cultural, academic, and other enrichment programs for children in city schools. |
| Citizens Advisory Commission for Public Safety | Develops an annual Community Interaction Recommendations Report in cooperation with the Baltimore City Police Department. |
| Civil Service Commission | Advises the Mayor on personnel issues and investigates and rules on appeals of termination, suspensions over 30 days, and demotions of civil service employees. |
| Civilian Review Board | Handles complaints against law enforcement officers. |
| Community Reinvestment and Reparations Commission | Determines the use of designated funds. |
| Baltimore Community Relations Commission of the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore | Subpoenas information and witnesses, holds public hearings when conciliation attempts fail, issues cease and desist orders, and takes unresolved cases into court via legal counsel. |
| Compensation Commission for Elected Officials | Evaluates the compensation of all elected officials and makes recommendations for changes (if suggested) for the next term. |
| The Baltimore Convention & Tourism Board (Visit Baltimore) | Generates economic benefits for Baltimore City through the attraction of convention, group, and leisure visitors. |
| East Baltimore Development Corporation (EBDI) | Seeks to revitalize, reenergize, and rebuild East Baltimore. |
| Environmental Control Board | Responsible for the adjudication of citations issued by other agencies that affect sanitation, environmental, health, safety, and other quality of life issues. |
| Board of Estimates | Formulates and executes the fiscal policy of the City to the extent, and in the manner provided for, in the Charter. |
| Board of Ethics | Oversees and enforces the City’s Public Ethics Law, including investigating ethics complaints, issuing sanctions, managing financial disclosure statements, and conducting training. |
| Family League of Baltimore | Promotes data-driven, collaborative initiatives and resources to create lasting outcomes for children, families, and communities. |
| Board of Finance | Serves fiscal needs of the city including issuing certificates of indebtedness, issuing temporary loans, reviewing capital improvement programs, and more. |
| Board of Fire & Police Employees Retirement System | Manages the Baltimore City Fire and Police Employees' Retirement System. |
| Board of Fire Commissioners | Advises the Chief of the Fire Department and reviews discipline policy and practice of the department. |
| Baltimore Municipal Golf Corporation Board of Directors | Oversees the City’s public golf courses. |
| Baltimore City Head Start | Provides for a seamless delivery of family-focused, comprehensive services that ensure all eligible children, regardless of economic circumstances, have the opportunity for educational achievement. |
| Baltimore City Hispanic Commission | Serves as a liaison between Baltimore’s Hispanic community and Baltimore City government entities, researches and monitors issues and policies affecting Baltimore’s Hispanic/Latino population, and recommends legislative and policy solutions, and promotes awareness of Hispanic/Latino culture. |
| Historic East Baltimore Community Action Coalition (HEBCAC) | Supports and promotes the 220-block area bounded by Edison Highway, Aisquith Street, North Avenue, and Fayette Street. |
| Commission for Historical and Architectural Preservation (CHAP) | Oversees 36 local historic districts, over 200 landmarks, and manages a local historic preservation tax credit program. |
| HIV Health Services Planning Commission | Plans for and ensures access to culturally-sensitive, high-quality, cost-effective services in collaboration with local authorities, providers, and consumers of HIV-prevention and care services. |
| Baltimore City HIV Planning Group and Commission (HPG) | Guides the work of BCHD and establishes further goals that will ultimately lead to zero new infections. |
| Housing and Community Development Inclusionary Housing Board | Reviews requests for modifications or waivers and advises the Housing Commissioner and the Planning Director. |
| Housing Authority of Baltimore City (HABC) | Sets policy guidelines and directions on all key operational and financial issues needed to maintain the Authority's conventional public housing units, rehabilitated housing, and Section 8 certificates and vouchers. |
| Inspector General Advisory Board | Responsible for appointing the Inspector General, conducting an annual performance review for the Inspector General, and for reviewing, revising, and approving the Office of the Inspector General’s budget. |
| Board of Legislative Reference | Drafts legislation and serves as the official depository for City documents as a reference library for legislation regarding the operations of the local government. |
| Baltimore City LGBTQ Commission | Advises on issues affecting the LGBTQ community, brings the LGBTQ communities and the larger Baltimore community together through long-range projects, and ensures that City agencies fairly and equitably address issues affecting Baltimore’s LGBTQ community. |
| Board of Licensing for Towing Services | Hears and decides specific issues arising out of tows from private property, regulates private property towing practices, and licenses tow truck companies performing towing services from private property. |
| Board of Liquor License Commissioners for Baltimore City (BLLC) | Processes applications for and renewals of licenses to sell beer, wine, and liquor; conducts periodic inspections; collects all license fees and fines; and other related functions. |
| Local Control Advisory Board | Provides advisement related to the 2024 city charter amendment granting Baltimore City local control of the Baltimore Police Department. |
| Midtown Benefits District Board of Directors | A citizen-run neighborhood advocacy and improvement group that provides security and sanitation services along with promotional activities for four communities: Bolton Hill, Charles North, Madison Park, and Mount Vernon/Belvedere. |
| Park Heights Renaissance | Represents residents, businesses, religious institutions, schools, agencies, and other stakeholders committed to shaping a better future for Park Heights. |
| Parking Authority of Baltimore City (PABC) | Planning, development, management, and operations of Baltimore City's parking institution. |
| Pimlico Community Development Authority | Provides community input on how slots funding is allocated in the Pimlico area. |
| Planning Commission | Guides the physical development of the City of Baltimore. |
| Baltimore City Property Tax Assessment Appeals Board | Hears appeals from property owners in its area who disagree with the values assessed by the State Department of Assessments and Taxation and other local tax matters. |
| Baltimore Public Art Commission | Serves as a citizen review board charged with administering Baltimore City’s Percent-for-Public Art program, as well as reviewing permanent gifts of public art to Baltimore. |
| Baltimore Public Markets Corporation | Administers the Baltimore Public Market System. |
| The Public Safety Advisory Commission AKA the Citizens Advisory Commission for Public Safety | Develops an annual Community Interaction Recommendations Report. |
| Recreation and Parks Advisory Board | Advises the Director of Baltimore City Recreation and Parks. |
| Baltimore Regional Water Governance Task Force | Makes recommendations to modernize the governance of the Baltimore region’s water and wastewater utilities to help ensure residents efficiently, equitably and sustainably receive high-quality services. |
| Residential Parking Program Advisory Board | Advises the Residential Parking Program. |
| Board of Trustees, Employment Retirement System and Elected Officials Retirement System | Manages the Employees’ Retirement System of the City of Baltimore. |
| Board of School Commissioners | Ensures excellence in education for every student at every level through focusing on quality instruction, managing systems efficiently, and sustaining a culture of excellence. |
| Social Services Commission | Advises the local director and the state director on local application of state policies or procedures, reviews the periodic evaluation of the local department, and secures the appropriation of local funds by the local governing authority. |
| Baltimore Commission on Sustainability | Guides the development of the Sustainability Plan with a focus on public involvement. |
| Task Force to Study Compensation and Student Members of the Baltimore City Board of School Commissioners | Studies various aspects of the Baltimore City Board of School Commissioners’ composition and compensation structure. |
| Tax Credit Workgroup | Conducts a comprehensive review and improvement of our current tax credit systems. |
| Tax Sale Workgroup | Makes recommendations on improving the Baltimore City tax sale process. |
| Trauma Informed Care Task Force | Charged with guiding the implementation of legislation, providing oversight, guidance, and consultation to help Baltimore become a trauma-responsive city. |
| Veterans Commission | Provides assistance to veterans who reside in the City, are employed by the City, or are retired City employees, and their families, when in need; and works with the Mayor and City Council, veterans groups, and others on policies, programs, and concerns related to veterans and their families. |
| Wage Commission of Baltimore City | Responsible for the administration and proper operation of the minimum, living, and prevailing wage laws. |
| War Memorial Commission | Supervises the War Memorial Building and the War Memorial Plaza. |
| Baltimore Workforce Development Board | Oversees workforce development in Baltimore City in conjunction with labor, workforce, education, and philanthropy. |
| Baltimore City Youth Commission | Allows youth to provide advice, recommendations, and information on the development of community and government policies, programs, and services that support children, youth, and their families. |
| Baltimore Municipal Zoning and Appeals Board (BMZA) | Hears and determines all zoning appeals, basing its decisions on what will promote the health, security, morals, and general welfare of the community. |
Civil Rights & Liberties Database
More Information
Civil Rights & Liberties Database
Browse collections of resources related to civil rights and liberties including books and scholarly articles, official documents, reports, case law, and legislative provisions.
Becoming an Informed Voter
More Information
Becoming an Informed Voter
Active participation of citizens through voting is essential to representative democracy. This guide will help you understand and become involved in the election process in Maryland.
If you would like to know more, try our Live Chat with a Librarian service, or contact us.