# ENOCH PRATT FREE LIBRARY Meeting of the Board of Trustees Wednesday, June 9, 2021 6:15 PM – Zoom In lieu of Central Library

Trustees in Attendance	Not in Attendance	Staff in Attendance
Ms. Adams	Mr. Aneckstein	Ms. Daniel
Mr. Boothe	Mr. Hillman	Ms. Graham
Ms. DeKuyper	Mr. Miller	Mr. Jenkins
Ms. Dorman		Mr. Krabbe
Ms. Espenshade		Mr. Lewis
Ms. Farmer, Chair		Mr. Malveaux
Ms. Gohn		Ms. Mange
Mr. Jensen		Ms. McCorkell
Ms. Jones-Rodwell		Ms. Monahan
Mr. Kaufman		Ms. Raabe
Mr. Koff		Ms. Scheuerman
Ms. Lasher		Ms. Shimabukuro
Ms. Moser		
Ms. Rawson Powell		
Mr. Reid		
Mr. Rosenberg		
Mr. Scherr		

## I. Chair, Dr. Mychelle Farmer called the meeting to order at 6:17 PM

- II. Approval of Minutes of the Wednesday, March 10, 2021 Board of Trustees Meeting \*\*\*ACTION: <u>The Board of Trustees approved the minutes from the Wednesday, March 10,</u> <u>2021 meeting.</u>\*\*\*
- III. Ratification of the Actions of the Board of Directors \*\*\*ACTION: <u>The Board of Trustees ratified the actions of the Board of Directors at the</u> <u>Wednesday, March 10, 2021 meeting.</u>\*\*\*
- IV. Chair's Remarks

Dr. Mychelle Farmer began her remarks with a welcome to all members of the Pratt Library Board of Trustees, Board of Directors, and all other participants in the meeting. Dr. Farmer is glad to see that the library services are continuing to expand as the City and State resolve the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic. Dr. Farmer is excited about the new developments, and as the Chair of the Board, she is sure that the Board will continue to support this expansion of programs and activities. The Board continues to focus on the Pratt Library Strategic Plan, and it serves as a guidepost for both the Board and the Pratt Library staff. To facilitate the Board intentions to accomplish the goals and targets within the strategic plan, the Board has introduced a new, independent committee dedicated to Diversity-Equity-Inclusion, and it will be referred to as the DEI Committee. Dr. Farmer is pleased to state that the Board has a strong committee under the leadership of Mr. Alexander Koff. The Board will be getting regular reports on this committee's work at future Board meetings. Dr. Farmer thanked Mr. Koff for his leadership. Dr. Farmer concluded her remarks by recognizing Board members who have completed their terms of service for the Pratt Library Board. They are Mr. Ted Delaplaine, Mr. Bob Waldman, and Ms. Sayra Meyerhoff. Dr. Farmer also announced that Ms. Kate Rawson Powell will be stepping down from the Board of Trustees, as she will be taking on a new role as the leader of a special philanthropic organization. Dr. Farmer thanked Ms. Rawson Powell for her great contributions to the Pratt Board, and she and the Board wishes her the best in her new endeavors.

# V. Election of Officers of the Board of Trustees, Emeritus Members and Members of the Board of Directors

Ms. Virginia Adams on behalf of the Governance Committee brought forth the recommended nominations of new Board Directors, Ms. Margaret de Cuevas, Ms. Elizabeth Moser, Ms. Sheela Murthy; second term Board Directors, Mr. Steven Boothe, Ms. Nancy Dorman, Mr. James Miller; third term Board Directors, Ms. Nancy Hackerman, Ms. Verna Jones-Rodwell; Emeritus Members, Mr. Edward J. Brody, Ms. Margot Milch Heller, Mr. Robert S. Killebrew, Jr., Mr. James S. Ulmer, III; Chair of Board of Trustees, Dr. Mychelle Farmer; Vice Chair of Board of Trustees, Ms. Christine Espenshade.

## \*\*\*ACTION: The Board of Trustees unanimously approved the nominations of Officers of the Board of Trustees, Emeritus Members and Members of the Board of Directors.\*\*\*

## VI. Report on City and State Operating Budgets

The City and State Operating Budgets report was included in the Board Book and stands as is.

### VII. Public Comment

Mr. Mark Hart expressed gratitude and appreciation for the extraordinary leadership of Ms. Heidi Daniel and staff throughout the COVID-19 pandemic. As the weather becomes warmer, Mr. Hart looks forward to reengaging with the Pratt's services and programs.

### VIII. Adjournment

There being no further business; the meeting was adjourned by Chair, Dr. Mychelle Farmer at 6:55 PM. The next meeting of the Board of Trustees is scheduled for Wednesday, September 22, 2021 at 6:15 pm via Zoom in lieu of Central Library.