ENOCH PRATT FREE LIBRARY Meeting of the Board of Trustees Wednesday, June 3, 2020 6:15 PM – Zoom In lieu of Central Library

Trustees in Attendance	Not in Attendance	Staff in Attendance
Ms. Adams	Mr. Aneckstein	Ms. Daniel
Ms. DeKuyper	Mr. Hillman	Mr. Estremsky
Ms. Dorman	Mr. Sarbanes	Ms. Graham
Ms. Espenshade		Mr. Jenkins
Ms. Farmer		Mr. Krabbe
Ms. Gohn		Mr. Malveaux
Mr. Jensen		Ms. Mange
Ms. Jones-Rodwell		Ms. McCorkell
Mr. Kaufman		Ms. Moran
Mr. Koff		Ms. Monahan
Ms. Lasher		Ms. Raabe
Mr. Miller		Ms. Scheuerman
Ms. Moser		Ms. Shimabukuro
Ms. Powell		Mr. Wilson
Mr. Reid		
Mr. Rosenberg, Chair		
Mr. Scherr		

I. Mr. Benjamin Rosenberg called the meeting to order at 6:18 PM

II. Approval of Minutes of the Wednesday, March 4, 2020 Board of Trustees Meeting ***ACTION: <u>The Board of Trustees approved the minutes from the Wednesday, March 4, 2020</u> <u>meeting.</u>

III. Ratification of the Actions of the Board of Directors ***ACTION: <u>The Board of Trustees ratified the actions of the Board of Directors at the</u> <u>Wednesday, March 4, 2020 meeting.</u>

IV. Chair's Remarks

With this being Mr. Benjamin Rosenberg's last meeting as Board Chair, Mr. Rosenberg began his remarks by reading excerpts from *Mr. Pratt's letter to the City of Baltimore*. Mr. Rosenberg continues to be inspired by Mr. Pratt and thankful to be a part of the work and legacy of the Library. Mr. Rosenberg welcomed the new Board Chair; Dr. Mychelle Famer, who he believes will do an excellent job in her new role. Mr. Rosenberg concluded his report thanking and praising Ms. Heidi Daniel and her staff for all their excellent work. Notwithstanding the COVID -

19 pandemic; Mr. Rosenberg believes the library is moving forward nicely despite the difficult and ever-changing circumstances.

V. Election of Officers of the Board of Trustees and Members of the Board of Trustees and Board of Directors

On behalf of the Governance Committee, Ms. Virginia Adams presented nominations of the following persons for the positions indicated; all terms on the Board of Directors will end at the Annual Meeting in 2023:

Mr. Steven Boothe - Member of the Board of Trustees; Mr. Jamar Brown - First term on the Board of Directors; Ms. Sandy Berman - Second term on the Board of Directors; Mr. Jacob Hodes and Mr. Vernon Reid -Third terms on the Board of Directors; Dr. Mychelle Farmer – Chair of the Board of Trustees; Ms. Christine Espenshade – Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees. ***ACTION: The Board of Trustees unanimously elected the persons nominated as Members and Officers of the Board of Trustees and Members of the Board of Directors.

VI. Report on City and State Operating Budgets

Mr. Gordon Krabbe reported that due to the COVID-19 pandemic the City has issued a hiring freeze and is facing a \$108 million revenue short fall. Despite the short fall and hiring freeze; Ms. Heidi Daniel and Mr. Krabbe were able to successfully negotiate with City officials a sustainable budget through the next fiscal year. The state of Maryland is facing a 2.8 billion revenue short fall. Despite the revenue short- fall, Mr. Krabbe reported that there will be no layoffs, and is encouraged that next year will not be one that has significant consequences.

VII. Public Comment

Mr. Mark Hart began his comments by expressing gratitude and appreciation for the extraordinary leadership of Ms. Heidi Daniel and staff throughout the COVID-19 pandemic. Mr. Hart concluded his comments by thanking Mr. Benjamin Rosenberg for his excellent Board leadership. Mr. Hart enthusiastically welcomed and looks forward to working with new Board Chair, Dr. Mychelle Farmer.

VIII. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:50 PM. The next meeting of the Board of Trustees is scheduled for Wednesday, September 16, 2020 at 6:15 pm via Zoom in lieu of Central Library.