Print this page — Done printing
OR search: Catalog | Databases | Internet
Subject Guides : Maryland

Maryland Demographics

Internet Sites

American Factfinder
Use the American Factfinder to access 1990, 2000 Census and American Community Survey results. Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Baltimore Area Demographics
Information about resources for obtaining Baltimore demographics provided by the Regional Information Center at the Baltimore Metropolitan Council.  This site provides a good explanation of various geographic levels and how to obtain the data.
Baltimore City Data Collaborative
The Baltimore City Data Collaborative provides a resource especially the well-being of families, children and youth living in Baltimore City. It also has profiles with data about child and family well-being for 55 statistical areas of Baltimore City.
Baltimore City Neighborhood Profiles
The Baltimore Neighborhood Indicators Alliance and the Baltimore City Planning Department have created profiles for Baltimore City neighborhoods from the 2000 U.S. Census. Each profile is four pages long and includes demographic, social, housing, and economic data.
Baltimore Neighborhood Indicators Alliance
A one-stop site for data on 55 statistical areas of Baltimore City.  Contains VItal Signs, the current report on each neighborhood area as well as mapping capability and easy to find listings of community associations and resources in the City.
BMC Community Profiles
The Baltimore Metropolitan Council provides profiles of community areas in the Baltimore region. There is a profile for each of the 94 Regional Planning Districts in Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, and Baltimore, Carroll, Harford and Howard Counties.
Historical Census Browser, 1790-1960
From the University of Virginia Library.  Provides census data from 1790-1960 at both the state and county level.  Examines state and county topics for census years. The web site can also be used to create maps of selected data, ratios between any two data categories, and tables of data by county or state.
Historical Neighborhood Census Data for Baltimore City
Johns Hopkins University Library has made available census data for Baltimore City  from 1970 census tracts and for 1980,1990 and 2000 neighborhood boundaries . Maps are included.
Maryland State Data Center
State profiles, demographics, census information, and projections are available for Maryland and individual counties. The latest tabulations of state and local jurisdiction statistics will be found here.
Small Area Profiles
The University of Missouri Census Data Center provides a 2000 Census Profile Generator using any of the following geographic units: census tract, blockgroup, city, ZIP code, state, county or metro area for anywhere in the United States. Simply go to the page, select the level you prefer and click.
U.S. Census Bureau
Use to stay aware of latest Census Bureau programs, publications and data tools.  Contains an excellent index for finding statistics by topic.  For data, go to the American Factfinder page.

maintained by the staff of the Maryland Department, State Library Resource Center, Enoch Pratt Free Library

Print this page — Done printing