Print this page — Done printing
OR search: Catalog | Databases | Internet
Subject Guides

Underground Railroad

Internet Sites

National Geographic: The Underground Railroad
Interactive site takes you aboard the Underground Railroad on a journey to freedom. Additional locations on the menu explore other aspects including classroom ideas, sources, and biographies.
Pathways To Freedom, Maryland and the Underground Railroad
Travel back to the 1800's and become an eyewitness to history. Includes an interactive timeline, music and various photographs.
The Underground Railroad in the National Park Service
Provides links to U.S. National Park Servicere sources on The Underground Railroad, including profiles of parks and historic landmarks, publications, archaeological findings, programs, and special initiatives.
The William Still Underground Railroad Foundation, Inc.
More information about William Still, a leader of the Underground Railroad who resided in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Still provided assistance to fugitive slaves, many of them from the border state of Maryland and even further away Virginia.
Whispers of Angels
Companion website for documentary of the same name includes additional background material and images. The page gives important historical and biographical facts about the Underground Railroad and brings the story to the present with photographs of routes and landmarks as they look today.

Books

Bound for the Promised Land

Bound for the Promised Land  : Harriet Tubman, Portrait of an American Hero
   
Larson, Kate Clifford

Meticulously researched, this biography delves deep into the life of the most famous “conductor” of the Underground Railroad. Larson's book is the most complete biography of Harriet Tubman to date.
Call Number: E444 .T82 L37 2004
Check this item in our catalog

Escape on the Pearl

Escape on the Pearl  : The Heroic Bid for Freedom on the Underground Railroad
   
Ricks, Mary Kay

The extraordinary real life story of sisters Mary and Emily Edmonson, who in 1848 along with several others, escaped from slavery on a schooner named the Pearl, right in our Nation's capital. Their escape would set into motion a firestorm of controversy and debate over the institution of slavery. Told in a novellesque manner, the book also includes a map and photographs that help bring the story alive. 
Call Number: E445.D6 R53 2007
Check this item in our catalog

Passages to Freedom

Passages to Freedom  : The Underground Railroad in History and Memory
   
Blight, David W.

A collection of essays that tell the story of the Underground Railroad from different perspectives. Lavishly illustrated with documents, artworks, and photographs.
Call Number: E450 .P27 2004
Check this item in our catalog

Underground Railroad

Underground Railroad 
   
Division of Publications, National Park Service

A compact treasure trove of historic illustrations, photographs, and essays that describes some of the amazing individuals and events that are part ofthe intriguing history of the Underground Railroad.
Call Number: E450 .U59 1998
Check this item in our catalog


Videos

Roots of Resistance : A Story of the Underground Railroad
   
58 min

Recounts the story of the Underground Railroad through narratives of escaped slaves. Includes interviews with descendents of slaves and slave holders of Somerset Place, a plantation in North Carolina. Directed by Orlando Bagwell.

The Underground RailroadThe Underground Railroad
   
93 min

The story of a loosely organized network of runaway slaves, freed blacks and anti-slavery whites, all willing to risk their lives in the name of liberty. A story of a two hundred year struggle to break the bonds of slavery in the American South, which chronicles the achievements of abolitionists Frederick Douglass, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Harriet Tubman and William Lloyd Garrison.
Check this item in our catalog

Whispers of AngelsWhispers of Angels : A Story of the Underground Railroad
   
60 min

This DVD narrates the stories of white Quaker Abolitionist Thomas Garrett and William Still, a free, black anti-slavery activist, who 'conducted' thousands of fugitives to freedom through the 'corridor of courage', from Maryland's Eastern Shore to the streets of Philadelphia.
Check this item in our catalog


Databases

African-American History and Culture

This electronic encyclopedia includes thousand of entries covering the entire breadth of African-American history - from African beginnings through the slave trade and the Civil Rights Movement to the present. Entries are organized into five sections: Biographies, Encyclopedia, Historical Documents, Gallery and Maps and Charts. Each entry is cross-referenced through hyperlinks and searchable by topic, by historical era, and by keyword.

maintained by the staff of the African American Department, State Library Resource Center, Enoch Pratt Free Library

Print this page — Done printing